Her Promise, Her Faith | Making the World a Better Place

My Promise My Faith Brownie Award Pin; Girl Scouts Make the World a Better Place PatchKaitlyn has been working on the “My Promise, My Faith” award for Girl Scouts. It is about relating the lines of the Girl Scout Law to your faith.

In case you don’t have a Girl Scout, or were never a Girl Scout yourself, here is the law:

“I will do my best to be honest and fair, friendly and helpful, considerate and caring, courageous and strong, and responsible for what I say and do, and to respect myself and others, respect authority, use resources wisely, make the world a better place, and be a sister to every Girl Scout.”

Kaitlyn picked the line “Make the World a Better Place,” and related it to the parable of the Good Samaritan. She says a great way to make the world a better place is to help other people, even if they are not like you. I agree! Great thinking, Kaitlyn.

Another step to earning this reward is picking three inspirational quotes by women that you feel relate to the part of the Girl Scout Law, and put them where you can see them every day.

I worked with Kaitlyn to find some different quotes, and these are the three she ended up picking to write down and laminate to put in the front of her school notebook:

  • “One man can make a difference and every man should try.” Jackie Kennedy
  • “Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.” Princess Diana
  • “You have two hands: one for helping yourself; the other for helping others.” Audrey Hepburn

Jackie Kennedy, Princess Diana, Audrey Hepburn

Here are some other quotes we read and liked:

  • “How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” Anne Frank
  • “Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember: you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” Harriett Tubman
  • “I am only one; but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something. I will not refuse to do something I can do.” Helen Keller
  • “Do not wait for leaders; do it alone, person to person.” Mother Teresa
  • “Never believe that a few caring people can’t change the world. For, indeed, that’s all who ever have.” Margaret Mead

Anne Frank, Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Mother Teresa, Margaret Mead

Do you have a inspirational quote by a woman that relates to “Make the World a Better Place”? Please share below! We love quotes.

8 responses to “Her Promise, Her Faith | Making the World a Better Place

  1. One of my very favorite quotes I found while walking along the Berlin Wall. http://caroundtheworld.com/2010/10/27/die-mauern-the-berlin-wall-east-side-gallery/ (see the last photo on this article). It is: “Many Small People In Many Small Places Can Do Many Small Things That Can Change The World!” Don’t know who it’s by, but it fits with her theme, I think!

  2. Adopting a child may not change the world, but it will change the world for that child.

    • Great quote, Heather! And SO TRUE! I had to look up who said that to credit it, in case any other Girl Scout coming on this page wanted to use it.

      “Adopting one child won’t change the world; but for that child, the world will change.” ~ Christine Reed

      Christine Reed, mother of nine adopted children.
      Thank you!

  3. We are working on the same award, and my daughter chose the same line. We did a google search for “quotes from women ‘make the world a better place’,” and this came up! So helpful! Thanks so much!
    My daughter related the line to “help thy neighbor as you help thyself.” (or something – my husband explained the golden rule, etc.). Having the quotes here is helpful. Thanks so much for sharing. I can’t wait to show her this in the morning!

    • Jen, thanks for sharing your daughter’s experience with this! I think it’s really awesome how the same line can speak to each girl so individually – even differently from one year to another! Happy scouting!

  4. My name is Teagan and I am a second year Brownie. I have been doing the My Promise, My Faith pin for four years now! I did the same line of the Girl Scout law as your daughter. When I searched for quotes, yours came up first. Last year I did quotes by Mother Teresa, so I was glad to see Kaitlyn had a quote by Mother Teresa, too. I have not heard that one before so it was nice you included it. My favorite one that you included was the Audrey Hepburn quote about having two hands; one for helping yourself and one for helping others. I had a lot of fun reading your blog post. Thanks!

    • Teagan, sorry we didn’t respond earlier! Thank you for the message. Kaitlyn loved hearing another Girl Scout found her work and was doing the same line she chose. Have fun with Girl Scouts- it’s been a great part of all three of us Dohl girls’ lives!

Leave a Reply

