Honey, Where is My Cup?

Notice that the cup is EMPTY. Why, oh why, can't I just wash it??

Notice that the cup is EMPTY. Why, oh why, can’t I just wash it??

I hear it every day. Multiple times a day. “Honey, have you seen my cup?”

“Was it one of the empty ones on the table?”

“Yes”

“Then I put it in the dishwasher.”

“Awwww! I was still using that cup!”

I don’t get it. But when he went to the lengths of scrawling on a napkin “ACTIVE CUP! Please do not wash!” I figured that even though it made no sense to me, it was important to him.

An empty cup should be on this side. Or, ideally, simply put to wash by the drinker.

An empty cup should be on this side. Or, ideally, simply put to wash by the drinker.

Today I made him a little something to help both of us. A coaster, of sorts, just for him. And the other side has an “all clear message” (with a bit of a reminder to him that that side isn’t actually necessary).

I printed two pages with both, folded in half, and ran the two cards through the laminator. Quick trim and … voila! No more “lost” empty cups. If you’re just dying to make one, I’ve attached the pdf (Leave this cup alone PDF). Let me know if my husband isn’t the only one always trying to hang onto empty cups.

2 responses to “Honey, Where is My Cup?

  1. You are NOT ALONE! =) I may just have to try this myself! Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

