Cedar Cliff and Dry Run Falls

 

The hike to Cedar Cliff Falls and Lower Dry Run Falls requires many miles of off trail hiking.  Hiking through the brush along a stream bed proved more difficult than originally believed.  Water dripped on my clothes as I trudged through the brush that had been soaked from storms the previous night.

 

I finally arrived at the top of the Cedar Cliff Cascades.  The cascades (about 80 feet of tumbling water) flow directly into Cedar Cliff Falls, which fall about 120 feet down a sheer cliff.

Cedar Cliff Falls was not viewable from the edge of the cliff, so a descent was necessary.    The right side of the falls provided a less steep descent, but this was still quite steep.  A complete view of the falls was not available due to the spring foliage, but the massiveness of the waterfall was quite evident.  I climbed up the steeper left side of the canyon after photographing the falls and headed over several ridges toward Dry Run.

I arrived at Dry Run and crossed over the spur creek that fed into Dry Run.  I climbed past two smaller waterfalls before I arrived at the base of the massive Lower Dry Run Falls.  The falls shoot down a channel and fan out over the rocks in a spectacular 150 foot or more fall.

The climb back up the Dry Run fire road was steep and hard.  But I eventually arrived at the fire road so I could complete the final leg of the journey.  The hike up the fire road was much easier than any of the off-trail portions of the hike.  I briefly spotted a black bear about 30 yards away.  He ran off and disappeared from sight in a matter of seconds.  I finally arrived at the overlook only to discover that my car had been struck by a RV and no one left a note.  Oh well, c’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

