A Tacolicious Quiche

The scene: My house, the night before a brunch at church, in the middle of a storm that made fish feel it was a little too wet.

The problem: I needed a quiche, but didn’t have the ingredients for my favorite Spinach/Ham Quiche.

The solution: A tasty, cheesy, slightly spicy Taco Quiche.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 deepdish pie crust
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c. evaporated or whole milk
  • 1 can Rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilies)
  • about 1/2 lb taco meat (hamburger cooked with taco seasoning)
  • 4 oz (1/2 block) cream cheese
  • 1 c. shredded cheese (sharp cheddar or mexican blend)

I recommend making your taco meat first, so it can cool down some before making it. Alternately, this is a great way to use leftovers. I originally made a full pound of hamburger… what was I thinking?!

No worries – lunch tomorrow! Half a pound is DEFINITELY enough.

Make sure you drain the Rotel really well. I drained it over the sink, then set it to drain in over a bowl while I prepped the rest of the quiche. Very juicy, Rotel. On another note, the quiche ended up a little spicy (not bad, but more heat than my mom prefers at brunch). Adjust your heat by adjusting your Rotel.

Beat together eggs and milk, then mix in cheeses, Rotel and hamburger.

 

A couple notes at this point: (1) I put the meat in first and poured the rest over. That wasn’t bad, but I definitely recommend mixing it all together. (2) I cannot strongly enough recommend baking this on a baking sheet.

Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes, until knife inserted in middle comes out clean. Let set and cool on wire rack. Then enjoy (maybe with a nice dollop of sour cream and a little sprig of cilantro). Yum!

One response to “A Tacolicious Quiche

  1. So when can we expect the Cooking with Kat photo illustrated Cookbook to arrive on store shelves? This is great! I’ve never made Quiche, but I know how now! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

