Cancer Sucks; Let’s Kick Its Butt

Visit my page - you can donate today!

How many people do you know who have been affected by cancer?  I could name a number, but cancer doesn’t affect number, it affects people.  It saddens me that each of us has a story to share about a friend or a family member, or even about ourselves.

Donate Now or track my progress

 

I’ve chosen to run in the Monument Avenue 10k as part of my 300 Mile Challenge; I’ve chosen to participate in the 2011 Massey Challenge to make my run actually matterThe Massey Challenge works in partnership with the Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10k; I’m designating each and every step of those 6.2 miles to benefit the Massey Cancer Center.  I’m encouraged that my list of “cancer survivors” in my life is so much longer than the alternative list, but I want to see a cure for cancer.  I know that Massey’s team of researchers and doctors is progressing toward that goal everyday.

To get there, they need our help.  For my part, I’m running on April 2 and I’m raising money.  Those are both big commitments, so I would really appreciate your prayers, encouragement and , frankly, your money.  Will you support me, and Massey, with a financial gift?  Massey Cancer Center does not receive any funding from the race registration.  The only money Massey receives through the 10k is from the runners and walkers who choose to participate in the fundraising challenge.  That’s why your financial gift is so important.

I’m not running alone. The Ukrop’s 10k has 40k runners & walkers (that’s right, forty thousand), but only a portion of them are undertaking the Massey Challenge, and of that portion I am running with Team Jonny Ax.  Team Jonny Ax is running specifically in memory and honor of Jon Axisa, the late husband of my friend Meredith.  Meredith and I went to high school together.  We even planned on being roommates at UNC until she got a truly sweet scholarship at another school (they made her an offer she couldn’t refuse).  Meredith has been a runner since the day I met her, and she and her husband Jon lived more of life in less than thirty years on the planet than many people will in a lifetime.  Unfortunately, for Jon that was a lifetime.  Just a few short months after they got married last year, cancer took Jon’s body, but it couldn’t beat his soul.  Massey was there for Jon – was there for Meredith, too, really – and your contribution will impact the lives of hundreds of cancer patients like Jon and their families like Meredith.

Our team goal is $5000; my personal goal is $500. Please join me in Putting Cancer on the Run!

Donate Now

Leave a Reply

