Apples of Gold Greek Dinner

My final menu

I am not Greek. But I did grow up in the Lewisville/Clemmons area, where apparently a ton of Greek restaurateurs decided to unload deliciousness on the masses.  There were no “Greek” restaurants, there were just restaurants.  That happened to have souvlaki on the menu.  And dishes of tzatziki served with beef.   And feta on salads.  And a pan of baklava next to the cash register.

The "before" picture of all of the ingredients. Yummy meal to come!

Did Kim and Lori know this when they asked me about cooking a Greek dinner for the Apples of Gold ministry?  I don’t know.  But even though I initially resisted (a story for another post), I am glad I took on the challenge, because this was a fun and yummy menu to create!

Greek Cheese Torta - cream cheese, feta, spinach, seasonings, sun dried tomatoes, and pistachios

I sought out recipes to mix in with a few Greek recipes I already made (my take on chicken souvlaki, and tzatziki, plus the Greek Cheese Torta from Pampered Chef).  This wasn’t enough for a meal though… I needed something more.  And I needed a dessert.  But, I couldn’t take on baklava.  That was too hard, and I don’t really like it.

Rosemary Flatbread

I found a pilaf recipe that I enjoyed, so that was on the menu.  I looked through books of Greek recipes and decided to do a more Mediterranean flavors bread than a traditional Greek bread (I made a Rosemary/Olive Oil flatbread).  Technically, I did not need a bread and a rice – it’s so redundant! – but I couldn’t take of either of them.  I just couldn’t!  I made a Honey Balsamic Dressing for a salad of greens with tomatoes, feta and walnuts.  And I kept looking for a Greek dessert.

Naked Salads - Honey Balsamic Deliciousness to come

Then it came to me, with a sudden and startling realization: of course I had to make baklava.  So, I tried it.  And you know what?  It was good.  REALLY good!

Everyone seemed to really like the meal, and I know that baklava will be in our family dessert rotation from now on.  As Kourey says “Moe Bak-a-ba, pease!”  (More baklava, please!)

Baklava!

So much delicious baklava!

Leave a Reply

