There’s a Sad Sort of Clanging from the Clock in the Hall…

Grandmama, Papa and Uncle Stephen have been visiting this weekend, and it’s been great!  We enjoyed lunch out at O’Charley’s when they first got here (food was good; service.. not so much.  If only we’d been in Asheville!), Kaitlyn and Kourey got to unwrap more presents from Christmas (I’m serious), Anja and Uncle Stephen rocked hard on Rock Band, we broke out the Play-Doh and puzzles while Papa and Uncle Stephen went on a soda run (and flowers for me!  I LOVE flowers!), and after the little girls went to bed we got to play a few lively rounds of Apples to Apples.

Kourey's favorite Play-Doh, her beach bucket set

Kaitlyn and Kourey loved watching the music gaming.  They loved seeing Grandmama, Papa and Uncle Stephen.  They loved singing their current favorite songs (those would be “I Love to Tell the Story” for Kaitlyn, and “Defying Gravity” for Kourey, with an honorable mention for “Standing on the Promises” as Kaitlyn’s hymn of the night).  They loved showing off their Play-Doh and WiiFit skills.

Basically, they loved having an audience.

Nowhere was that more obvious than when it came time to say “Goodnight” after baths and toothbrush time.  I was not surprised they asked to go back downstairs to say goodnight: for one thing they genuinely love their Grandmama, Papa, Uncle Stephen and Anja; and for another thing they are very talented (or at least persistent) procrastinators.  I wasn’t surprised Kaitlyn wanted to sing the chorus to her new hymn of the night (the aforementioned “Standing on the Promises”).  And even though I can’t claim to be actually surprised at what came next, I can say it wasn’t planned.

Those Sound of Music fans reading the blog (Hi, Suzanne!) will have recognized the title of this entry, and have seen this coming.  Kaitlyn and Kourey got behind me and started the song.  As the mom, my job was to keep going with the Captain/Maria Von Trapp at festival part while they popped out from behind me as if we rehearsed every night…

There’s a sad sort of clanging from the clock in the hall, and the bells in the steeple, too.
And up in the nursery an absurd little bird is popping out to say “Cuckoo!” (Cuckoo!  Cuckoo!)

Regretfully they tell us, but firmly they compel us, to say goodbye (Cuckoo!) to you.

So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen adieu!  Adieu!  Adieu!  To you and you and you! <–me, getting out of the way

So long, farewell, au revoir auf wiedersehen!  I’d like to stay and taze my first am pain![sic]  (Now you say “No!”) <– Kaitlyn, who thinks she IS Leisl

The sun, has gone to bed and so must I. <–Kourey, with a pout to her voice

So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen good-night!  Goodbye!  Goodbye!  Goodbye! <– all three of us, because that’s how it is in the movie

And God bless my family, they all chimed right in with their line, the echoing, harmonized “Goodbye!”

Kourey sang the rest of the way to bed, reminding me that she knew we skipped a LOT of verses.

Can you tell my kids love music?

3 responses to “There’s a Sad Sort of Clanging from the Clock in the Hall…

  1. I started laughing at the title, and now have tears of joy in my eyes! Tante Suz is so proud of her little Sound of Music Fans! Oh how I want to see that on video! Love and miss you guys!

  2. PS happy 6 months in the US, Anja!

  3. thank you tante suz=))
    now it is already 7 month and 2 days!!!WOW
    Its too fast

Leave a Reply

