Schnitzel!

Schnitzel!

Schnitzel!

What do you mean where are the noodles? You thought Schnitzel had noodles? What did you think Schnitzel was, anyway? Is all you know about Schnitzel from the song from “The Sound of Music” (besides the fact that it is fun to say – “Schnitzel!”)?

Yeah, ok, me too.

schnitzel2But that changed last night when Anja made us Schnitzel for dinner. And, man, was it good.

Let me back up a little bit. Anja did some recon on me before she arrived, through stealth email conversations and emailing my sister-in-law. That is how she rightly figured that an awesome birthday present for me would be a German cookbook!

We had a lot of fun going through the pages, pointing out foods that she liked to eat, foods they usually buy prepared, and foods she had really never had and wasn’t sure why they were in the cookbook. A handy reference for me was my “Food Lovers Companion”; the book was in English culinary, and I need plain old American cook. Escalopes? Ohhhh, thin chops! Rocket? Ah, arugula.

We picked Schnitzel for the first recipe to try – I had all of the ingredients on hand. Anja told me that at home they usually served it with pommes frites. You know, chips and ketchup. You know, french fries. So I crinkle cut up a few potatoes and a few sweet potatoes (a new food for Anja), and mixed them in a drizzle of olive oil and some kosher salt, baking them for about an hour to make awesome homemade fries (if I do say so myself).

But they paled in comparison to the Schnitzel. Keith, notorious “stick with what I know” eater, loved it – he had two and a half pieces! Want to know a secret? They looked pretty easy to make, and I think we’ll have them again!

A few more notes about Schnitzel: the word “schnitzel” just means “cutlet”; “Wiener Schnitzel” has nothing to do with hotdogs, its just specifically veal, schnitzel-fied; when I told Kris we had Schnitzel she was jealous… but confused because she thought Schnitzel was some sort of confection on a stick… noodles I get, but stick?

For dessert we had soupy bowls of just-out-of-the-maker chocolate ice cream. Making ice cream was a first for Anja (not that we do it that often here), but we were all too full of Schnitzel and fries to eat much.

In case you’re interested, here is *basically* how to make pork Schnitzel:

  • Crumble dry bread into coarse breadcrumbs (or smash Pepperidge Farms stuffing) and place in shallow bowl
  • Beat an egg in another shallow bowl
  • Cut boneless pork chops very thin, rinse under cool water, and pat dry. Season on both sides and coat in egg, then in bread crumbs.
  • Heat small amount of oil over medium heat. Cook coated chops about ten minutes, turning once.
  • Enjoy your Schnitzel!
2 responses to “Schnitzel!

  1. YUMMY and jealous! I am going to have to try this sometime soon!

  2. Hello Kate and Anja!

    Seems you did a great job – and I’m getting hungry… It really looks good!
    By the way: Did Anja also tell about the Jäger-Schnitzel? 😉
    Would be another phantastic experiment!!!

    Love to you all,
    Gabriele
    (Godmother from Anja)

    Compliments to you Kate, for your extremly nice Homepage!!!!!

Leave a Reply

