Fun in the Garden

The things in the red 6-pack tray are Salvia that Kaitlyn picked out.  As soon as they get a little bigger they're going in the front boxes.

The things in the red 6-pack tray are Salvia that Kaitlyn picked out. As soon as they get a little bigger they're going in the front boxes.

If you’ve known me for a while, you might have realized I have a black thumb. And I come by it naturally. This was made clear to me a few weeks ago when my mother, who will admit to having a black thumb, asked me if I was going to plant the hosta and daylillies my mother-in-law had brought down soon. My MIL had brought them, dug up from her own garden, a week ago! She and my husband had planted them that day. But when I was growing up we probably would have waited, and the plants would have died oh-so-quickly.

So it’s a little daunting to talk about gardening, and I don’t know that you would really call it that yet. I just bought a few plants at the farmer’s market (basil, zucchini, and tomato), plus a few packs of seeds to try out (more basil, cilantro and salvia). I even made my own fertilizing composty stuff from kitchen scraps. There is a lot of coffee grounds, banana peels and egg shells in there, plus a bunch of other odds and ends.

It’s still fledgling, but I like it! If I can make a go of these plants, watch out next year!!!

Leave a Reply

