The Games We Play

Kaitlyn is going through a phase where she could play “I Spy” for hours at a time. And since it’s quasi-educational, we like it. We’ve spied blue things, brown things, fluffy things, flat things, messy things, tall things, short things, old things, silly things…

What’s best is when Kaitlyn gives the clues. Here’s how it goes:

“I spy with my little eye something I spy…. this (running over and pointing at something)!”
“Is it that?” we ‘guess’.
“YES!” she gleefully acknowledges.

Lately she’s been getting better… “I spy this blue towel!” “I spy this green wall!” and today an actual clue “I spy something Auntie gave back to Mommy!” (In case you’re wondering, that’s my exercise bike that I loaned to Kris when I was too pregnant to use, since it’s recumbent).

Kourey is a big fan of games, too. Her game of choice is Peek-a-Boo. She could be in the middle of a crying jag and you can briefly cover your eyes and say “peek-a-boo!” and she’ll switch to laughter. She’s gotten to the point where she tries to play, too. She’ll take her pants while getting dressed and cover her face and then pull it off and giggle. This is an especially great game, because Kaitlyn can play with Kourey. Kaitlyn loves that she can make Kourey laugh, and I love that it doesn’t involve physical contact between the two (since Kaitlyn sometimes reminds me of Elmyra from the vintage Animaniacs cartoons).

One response to “The Games We Play

  1. One trip to VA with our nephew was a 5 hr game of Eye Spy. Ashley eventually started saying random things like, I spy with my little greasy eye…and other craziness to keep us laughing!

Leave a Reply

