Mommy’s Little Helper

When I crochet a doily, it still needs to be “blocked”. I wet it, pin it out to the desired shape, spray with a little bit of starch, and let dry. This process involves a lot of quilting pins!

Kaitlyn wanted to help. I was very apprehensive about her being around a box of pins, and decided I would block later, when she was in bed. But she showed me she knew how to delicately pluck pins one at a time by their round heads and stick them into the board. At first the pins were lopsided and all over the place (and very easy for me to grab to use myself), but she quickly learned to stick the pins in the body of the doily – usually right next to my own!

Keith caught her in the act, helping me pin out a doily for Nana.

Leave a Reply

